Meeting Devaki

This morning Jia had a lecture at 8 a.m. and when she came back at nine I was still laying in bed; I felt very lazy.

Anyway I did not have to get up earlier because my first class was biology section at 10 a.m. I had a little difficulty finding the room in the basement of the psychology building. There were more people than seats, so some of us had to sit on the floor.

Sitting on the floor was helpful in a way because of the first assignment. We were supposed to bring in three organisms, but I had only brought a fly and myself (two organisms). As the TA was introducing himself, the guy sitting next to me pointed out a spider on the wall and I was able to capture it in a cup…a third organism. As you may have deduced, the atmosphere of my first biology section was very relaxed!

Anyway, after that I had a biology lecture, and from there went to meeting with a researcher, Dr. Devaki Bhaya, whom I will be working with (barring any unforeseen circumstance) starting next week. She showed me around her lab at the Carnegie Institution of Plant Biology, which is rather large. She suggested that I do some reading (since I know nothing of what she’s doing) and that I sign up for some units. So I went to the library and then visited one of the biology office.

Well, after that I went to the afternoon service at my residence, and got a late lunch–sandwich, and crackers from a recently received care package. I read a little and then napped until Jia came in, when I did some more reading before going to dinner with Jia. After dinner I practiced organ then went to the meeting of a group which volunteers at a local animal shelter. I am looking into doing that.

Finally…to Meyer Lair to type up a record of the day in an email!

Leave a comment